Environmental protection ISO 14001 is becoming a key factor in the global marketplace.

CACS Environmental Certification

The development of national and global economic policies, increasingly stringent legislation and other measures to foster environmental protection ISO 14001, is becoming a key factor in the global marketplace.

The environmental management system (EMS) standard ISO 14001 has been designed to help organisations establish and maintain a system of management to achieve sustainable business development through continuous improvement in environmental performance.

Compliance Australia Certification Services is currently accredited by the Joint Accreditation Service of Australia and New Zealand (JAS-ANZ) to provide ISO 14001 certification to organisations that fall within the industrial and commercial sectors listed.

Compliance Australia Certification Services can issue certificates to the requirements of JAS-ANZ for the interim and when Compliance Australia Certification Services achieve accreditation the issued certificate will be reissued with the JAS-ANZ mark.

Many organisations, in particular small to medium sized enterprises (SME’s), wish to implement their EMS by themselves so as to reduce or eliminate the cost of advice from consultants.

However, they often lack the knowledge and / or confidence to do so. We recognise the problems facing medium sized enterprises (SME’s) and, as a consequence, we have developed a simple flowchart to enable a company to develop and implement its own EMS.

Benefits of Environmental Certification

Certifying your company's environmental management system to ISO 14001 means that a third party, such as CACS, has assessed that it meets the requirements set out in the standard.

Certification to ISO 14001 allows you to:

For particular industries, pressure is now being exerted by many large organizations, such as original equipment manufacturers who expect their suppliers to adopt environmentally-friendly practices and may mandate ISO 14001 certification as a license to operate.

Steps to Environmental Certification (ISO 14001)

(Note: Click on each step to see the description.)

1. Choose the standard

Initially you should read ISO 14001:2004 Environmental Management Systems - Specification with guidance for use. Talk to us - we can provide you with information and support in finding the right solution for your company.

2. Develop your environmental policy

Your environmental policy will state your commitment to compliance with legal and regulatory demands, continual improvement and the prevention of pollution. You should make this policy available to your customers and the public.

3. Review and produce objectives

At this stage you should identify the elements of your business that impact on the environment, establish access to relevant environmental legislation and regulations and produce objectives and targets for environmental improvement and a management programme to achieve them.

4. Training

Once you have assembled a team and agreed your strategy it’s crucial to get understanding and involvement from the top down. Our training offers a comprehensive programme of training courses for each key step, which can be tailored to a company’s size and needs.

5. Implementation and assessment

As an accredited certification body our Client Managers can check in with you at key stages to ensure your implementation is running smoothly and to identify any gaps or areas for improvement. The initial registration to ISO 14001 involves a two-stage assessment process, including a document review and a site visit.

You should arrange the initial assessment with your registrar. It's often a good idea to include a pre-assessment, designed to act as a practice assessment. Following the two-stage initial assessment, the assessor will determine whether you should be recommended for registration.

6. Certification and beyond

Once the assessment has been successfully completed, we’ll issue a certificate of registration, clearly explaining the scope of your management system. The certificate is valid for three years, and your assessor will visit you regularly to help you make sure you remain compliant, and support you in the continual improvement of your systems. Other related services

7. Integrated management systems

ISO 14001 is designed to be compatible with other management systems standards and specifications which you might already have or plan to implement, such as:
• ISO 9001 Quality
• AS NZS 4801 Occupational Health and Safety
• Our Integrated Management service allows you to integrate them seamlessly and can give excellent value for money.


Related Links

CACS Online Quotation